YSU Biology Professor to Provide Leadership in National Program

Three Biologists to Provide Leadership, Expertise for ASM/NSF Biology Scholars Program Transitions Residency

The American Society for Microbiology (ASM) is pleased to announce the selection of three biologists —Marcy Kelly, Ph.D., of Pace University, Johanna Krontiris-Litowitz, Ph.D., of Youngstown State University, and Elisa Stone, Ph.D., of the University of California, Berkeley—to lead and facilitate the 2013-2014 ASM-NSF Biology Scholars Program Transitions Residency. This national leadership initiative has brought together more than 190 Scholars to create and disseminate examples of scholarship in teaching in biology. Kelly, Krontiris-Litowitz, and Stone will guide Transitions Scholars through every aspect of their residency, including the intensive From Science Education Research to Publication Institute held each July in Washington, D.C. As editors of leading biology education journals, e.g., CBE-Life Sciences Education, the Journal of Microbiology & Biology Education, and Advances in Physiology Education, they are well prepared to help Scholars navigate the researching and publishing process, including identifying appropriate venues for publication. The Biology Scholars Program is supported by the National Science Foundation,  and   partnerships with  the American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Physiological Society and other professional societies.